What We Ate This Week: Some New Dairy Free Treats & Legumes In Many Forms!

Had a lot of bean and lentil meals this week, along with some new treats and snacks we found at a local discount store. We don’t shop there very often but like to get snacks and sometimes a few staples if they’re available.

Breakfast

Had the usual packets of oatmeal and cereal but I also used some quick oats to make some peanut butter & jelly oatmeal on the stove one morning when everyone else was still in bed.

 

What We Ate This Week_ Some New Dairy Free Treats & Legumes In Many Forms! (1)

 

I tripled the recipe, used half Silk soy milk and half water. I mixed in globs of peanut butter as it was still bubbling but almost all of the liquid was absorbed. Then turned it off and mixed in some grape jelly. Besides the oats and liquid, I didn’t measure. I have made this recipe so many times, just not recently enough to share it. Lol. I was happy to find out that it works with quick oats too and not just old fashioned!

The girls also had yogurt and half of a Pop Tart each one morning. Miss Sassy had been asking for Pop Tarts off and on and I remembered to buy a package this week! I do like that the Aldi brand doesn’t have any certified synthetic colors! Miss Sassy had some Yoplait strawberry yogurt and Little T had this:

 

 

She LOVES them!! I gave them each a tube with dinner one evening when we first got them (below) and Miss Sassy didn’t care for hers so Little T had them both! Lol.

 

Lunch

One afternoon, I made some chili and did a play on the chili baked potatoes or chili fries and quickly toasted some hash browns. So, yeah. Those are buried under the heaping pile of chili (which I hope to share soon!) and some corn. The girls had this as well but separated.

It was pretty good IMO.

 

What We Ate This Week_ Some New Dairy Free Treats & Legumes In Many Forms! (10)

 

The girls had some chicken nuggets and french fries I believe while I had this chickpea salad sandwich with lettuce and cucumber and pickles! Miss Sassy had some lettuce too. She just calls it salad. That and spinach. Like plain baby spinach. She enjoys eating the leaves, but not the ones with long stems…She puts the stems back on her plate. 😀

Little T doesn’t care for the spinach. She kept biting it because Miss Sassy was eating it and then spitting it out and putting it on her tray. XD

 

 

The girls and I had some leftover corn, chips, and I had a burrito while they had a quesadilla. Little T’s quesadilla was really just refried beans but Miss Sassy had that and cheese.

In the bowl is chopped up and sauteed mushrooms mixed with salsa, and I believe adobo ( I forgot 😳 oh well.). I put some of the refried beans (mixed with a can of diced tomatoes & green chilies) in my burritos along with corn and the mushrooms. It was pretty good!

I also recommend always kind of cooking your burrito in the skillet. It always tastes waaay better.

I did give each of the girls a small exposure of the mushrooms. I think Little T ate hers but only because it was on her tray so I don’t know if she actually likes it. 😀 Miss Sassy looked at, poked, and we talked about hers but she didn’t eat it. Which I still call a win.

 

 

Now for the other treat! These yummy crunchy cookies are dairy free! Yes they’re small but at 3 cookies a serving, I think they’re perfect! The girls loved them and I don’t have to worry about Little T getting too much dairy!

We found these at the same discount food store and they’re already almost gone!

 

 

Dinner

The evening we got the yogurt tubes, I gave each to one of the girls and split a pb&j between them along with some raisins. I just had couple of wraps with leftover chickpeas and some pickles.

Like I said, Little T ate both. I think Miss Sassy ate all of her half and later ate Little T’s sandwich half. Hey, they ate so I was happy. Lol

 

What We Ate This Week_ Some New Dairy Free Treats & Legumes In Many Forms! (14)

 

We had lentil sloppy joes a few times for dinner and I added some baby spinach to my sammies a couple of times. Little T had just the lentils twice I believe and once I made a sandwich for them to split along with sides. I had sandwich bread that day because we were out of buns and needed to go shopping…

This time I didn’t add any green peppers because I was out and forgot. 😳 But I did add a good bit of frozen spinach into the lentils as they were cooking. Along with some tomato paste, a good bit of onion powder and some minced garlic.

 

 

Here is a bunch of leftovers and some chicken nuggets to supplement as we’d had the leftovers a couple of times each and I didn’t know what they would eat.

Little T ate a ton of blueberries as did Miss Sassy. They loooove blueberries! She also ate half of her nugget, some beans and a bite of two of lentils.

Miss Sassy had a ton of berries, ate the bread out from under the lentils, her nuggets and spinach. *shrugs*

My dinner was toast with mayo, spinach and chili.

 

What We Ate This Week_ Some New Dairy Free Treats & Legumes In Many Forms! (16)

 

Finally, I’m doing some experiments on my burger recipes I plan to share this summer! So stay tuned!

We had those to try and the girls had macaroni with spaghetti sauce and Little T and I tried a vegan mac n cheese (that she liked but I didn’t. Idk y’all. I can’t get with the nooch…)

This version of the burgers, while they were tasty and looked nice, need a bit more work before I share them. I have them planned to go out with a burger variations series by this summer!

The girls did try the burgers but didn’t care for them too much. Neither did hubby. So they def need work! Lol.

 

What did you all have this week? Care to share your thoughts below? Can’t wait to share with you all about my burgers!! 😀 😀

Kayley

Author: kayleyhiggins

I love God, writing, taking photos, baking, cooking, & trying new things. My husband is my best friend and I'm a mother of 2 wonderful little girls! I'm also a self-published author with one book out and several more in the works! Check out my Amazon page! http://www.amazon.com/Kayley-Higgins/e/B00DMDWEQA Here's my Facebook Fan Page! https://www.facebook.com/AuthorKayleyJ.Higgins/

One thought on “What We Ate This Week: Some New Dairy Free Treats & Legumes In Many Forms!”

Leave a comment